The Commenwealth of England

A few Weeks after the Execution of Charles I., the Lower House of Parliament called the republic out.
Under the Term Commonwealth of England -initially consisting of England and Wales, later Scotland and Ireland were added- the Government was now led by the Lower House as “Parliament of England”. King and House of Lords were abolished!
In 1653, the Parliament was dissolved and a Lord Protector became the only Legislature.

Lord Protector`s during the Commenwealth

Oliver Cromwell  | Richard Cromwell 

Scroll to TopCookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner